Home Decor (or Where do I put all this stuff?)

Standard

Do you know the word “criminetly”?  It’s the word that comes to mind when I realize I’m only about half way unpacked, and other than clothes, what I have left is basically knick-knacks.  Try explaining that word to my husband in the middle of packing, by the way.  Criminetly, according too the interwebs is an expletive indicating shock or disbelief.  Well, I didn’t realize I was cursing at you until I looked it up, but the disbelief part is certainly on target.  It makes me think of a little old man shaking his cane at some children, yelling, “Criminetly, you kids are making a racket!”  Or in my case, “Crimintely, is that another box of junk?”

IMG_4938

Ugh… Boxes in the spare bedroom.

So, criminetly!  We have a lot of small objects used for decoration.  That’s the Webster’s definition of knick-knacks, in case you didn’t know.  I spent about an hour last night filling my china cabinet.  China cabinets, at least the kind that your grandpa made for you, do not count as knick-knacks, but they sure do hold a lot of them.  The only thing we have more of than knick-knacks is drinking glasses.  Naren suggested we have a party to use all those glasses, but I don’t think we know enough people.

IMG_4949

This cabinet was an ugly wardrobe in my childhood bedroom. My mom’s dad turned it into a beautiful china cabinet when I was in high school.

We also have a lot of snapshots and smaller pictures.  In our apartment they were spread out throughout the house because I printed them as we bought frames for specific spots, but now we have different spots.  So I just put them all across the mantle, which is graced with a gigantic mirror.  I’m not sure I like it, but it does take the mirror down a notch, and I manage to not catch my reflection every time I enter the living room.

IMG_4952

That’s only half the mirror!

We have little treasures collected while traveling…

IMG_4961

The yellow box is from Fragonard (perfumery) in Paris, the plaid can had rock candy in it from Edinburgh, and the train is from the Henry Ford Museum in MI.

Slightly useful items we can’t quite give up, but don’t really want anyone to know we have…

That's a head massager I got at a Favorite Things Party and a Jagermeister lanyard Naren got at his bachelor party.

That’s a head massager I got at a Favorite Things Party and a Jagermeister lanyard Naren got at his bachelor party.

Things left over from college…

Naren's tassel from Wayne State and a wall hanging from my semester abroad.

Naren’s tassel from Wayne State and a wall hanging from my semester abroad.

Gifts from friends…

The little picture is a moving sand souvenir from Naren's friend Mansi and the flamingo is from my friend Karla (he lived on my desk for years at the bank and has seen many moves.  This time he lost a leg!)

The little picture is a moving sand souvenir from Naren’s friend Mansi and the flamingo is from my friend Karla (he lived on my desk for years at the bank and has seen many moves. This time he lost a leg!)

Naren and I both traveled and made great friendships and strong family bonds before we met.  We managed to collect a lot of things independently of each other.  Some of these things are beautiful or useful or tug at our heart strings, but most of them are not ours.  Most of them are either mine or his, mostly mine, and though we’re attached to them, they’re not a representation of who we are together.  Maybe it’s time to box up some of these things and leave them in the basement until we have the strength to give them up, so we have space in our home and our hearts for new things that are our things.

IMG_4957

We have a big basement that’s going to be put to use.

2 responses »

  1. Girl, I totally hear you. One reason I’m thankful for moving is the rediscovering of stuff I forgot we had. At our last place we couldn’t add any nails to the walls so most of our pictures were in storage. Here it’s one of the first things I did. I took a bunch of small frames and arranged them collage-like on spacious wall. It takes patience but maybe would help with your mantle space?

    Also jealous of your china cabinet. I will feel like a real grown-up when I have one! I have a music box collection I’ve never displayed because of the children, basically.

    Tchotchke is another great word for knick-knack. I learned it from a co-worker. 🙂

  2. I’m not sure I have a good wall for a collage, but I’ve always wanted to do that. I will probably find new homes for some of the mantle photos once we’re all settled, but for now, it’s growing on me.

    I love my china cabinet. It’s not something I’d choose as far as the style, but I”m very attached to it. In lieu of buying a china cabinet, I’d recommend rescuing a thrift dresser and adding a book shelf to the top of it. It doesn’t have to be anything fancy, just something that speaks to your style. I used an open book shelf in my kitchen for awhile, and loved the way it looked with my stuff stacked on it.

Leave a Reply

