I Can’t Find My Running Shoes.

Standard

Last week I agreed to participate in a “Biggest Loser” style weight loss competition. I signed up because two of my favorite cousins, both of whom inspire me to be better, are involved, and because I need the motivation. Most of the participants are going to weigh in weekly and share their numbers, but I’ve found that I get easily discouraged when the numbers on the scale do not immediately reflect my effort. Instead I asked my chiropractor, who is a real-food and fitness nut, to weigh me and make a note in my chart while I closed my eyes. I go in for an adjustment every couple of weeks to manage headaches, and I’m sure he’ll ask me about my progress and make suggestions.

IMG_4974

Wine at the Line 2012

One of the things I’m most proud of is that I earned this giant red t-shirt by run-walking a 5 mile race. Every time I see it, I think about how capable my body is, even when I’m not taking good care of it. My intention for that race was to run the entirety of a 5K, but my good friend, Paul, and I lined up for the 5 miler by mistake. I hadn’t trained very well, so we did a lot of walking, but I hadn’t even attempted a 5 mile distance before that, so I was really proud of myself at the end.  I’m also inspired by that red t-shirt. I’ve noticed that on days I wear it, I’m much more active. It’s hard to be lazy wearing a fitness “trophy”. Sot that’s my plan for getting healthy. Not wearing the red shirt every day, no, I’m looking for inspiration and putting it front and center whenever I can.

IMG_4976

I moved my back-up pair of athletic shoes (because I haven’t unearthed my regular pair from the moving mess) to the hearth, so I will see them every time I walk into the living room. I also put my magazine basket where it’s visible and with a running magazine at the front. It’s upside down, so every time I look at it, I see feet in running shoes.

IMG_4965

Junk food and some treats Naren’s mom sent us that are too good to be called junk!

I took this picture of the junk food we have in the house. I sent the candy to work with my husband, and threw away the pumpkin spice caramels left from my holiday care packages — I kept the whiskey and butter pecan ones because they’re too good to throw away (My cousin, Carrie, makes awesome soft caramels in various flavors to make some extra cash). I decided to physically separate the junk food by corralling it on top of the fridge. I don’t want to feel deprived while I change my lifestyle, but I do want to set myself up for success. If I have to pull down that basket every time I eat something unhealthy, that should be a good reminder.

IMG_4970

That says -14 degrees.

Since it’s too cold to get outside today, I took an exploratory trip to the basement to see what we have for exercising. There’s a big open room down there that is perfect to do one of the no-gym workouts that are all over pinterest. I also have a balance ball I’ve pretty much exiled that might come in handy, but I’m not sure where the legs for the trampoline are. That scale, I’m afraid, is destined for the garbage. I am just not inspired by the numbers.

IMG_4972

My favorite part of this plan is that we’re getting a dog. Naren noticed that when we dog-sit for our pal. Garth, I’m a much happier person. But we also noticed that I’m a lot more active. So we’re looking for a puppy or young dog with a lot of energy, who will need a walk/run every day. When you rent and don’t have a fenced yard, you can’t ignore an active dog in need of some exercise.

IMG_4929

Garth!

I’m not coming up with a fun name for these posts, but my plan is to write something every Monday about my health journey. I’ll post a picture in the same clothes (and probably with unattractive hair) and document how it’s going. One thing I learned when I did Weight Watchers is that I’m more likely to make healthy decisions when I’m actively discussing how things are going. If you’re inspired to make changes or share your strategies/struggles, please comment! I’d love to hear your insight or suggestions.

IMG_4964

January 6, 2014

6 responses »

  1. Do you like Brussel sprouts? I have been roasting them with olive oil, balsamic, maple syrup, and a little salt and pepper. I find that I will pop those like candy right out of the fridge. Yesterday I was trolling around for something to eat midday, and I threw a bunch of those in a bowl and ate them. The little bit of sweet that comes from the maple syrup was enough to make me think I was eating something less healthy. 🙂

    • Ugh! I wish I did, but I just don’t. I do like maple syrup, though. I’ve seen several recipes for shredded brussels sprouts salads with cranberries, nuts, etc. They all sound good. Maybe I’ll have to try them again.

  2. I Challenge you to join us on the project 10 challenge!! Lose 10 pounds with us and an obese kid wins!! They are sponsored in you name for a month you win a free tshirt and 10 chances to win $1000 (10 win each week)

    I honestly haven’t felt this good in a long time!I am one week in and have already lost 8 pounds!! We would love to tell you more!

  3. Great ideas! I have to have a plan for snacks or else I eat junk. And it’s not like it’s hard and my kids LOVE fruits and veggies. Yesterday for a snack we had carrot sticks with low-fat ranch and celery sticks with peanut butter. They ate those up. I snack too much at night. That’s my downfall. But I’ve picked up cross-stitching again so I have something to do with my hands while watching TV.

    • I’m making an effort to turn off or walk away from the tv more often. I don’t really snack that much at home, it’s the food at work that’s a problem. I’m there a lot by myself and don’t have a lot to do. That equals a recipe for disaster! I need to form a plan for dealing with that.

Leave a Reply

