Cheater!

Standard

If you’re going to cheat (not that I would)…  And go out to eat (not that we did)…  At least make it something you wouldn’t make at home, like sushi!

Since we had an impromptu shopping trip this evening with no time to cook, we grabbed dinner at our favorite sushi place.  Fish, rice and soy beans are good for you, right?  Yep!  Spring Rolls, on the other hand, are not.

Puppy Roll, or What happens when you give  a dog a Spring Roll!

Puppy Roll, or What happens when you give a dog a Spring Roll!

That’s the problem with dietary changes that require research, as far as I’m concerned.  I love, I mean L-O-V-E, researching new recipes.  So today, I spent a ridiculous amount of time looking for a way to put something sweet and chocolaty back in my diet this month without using refined sugars.  Since nearly all chocolate bars/chips are sweetened with sugar, that’s a big challenge.  I found a promising option, but didn’t have a chance to make it.  And the honey-sweetened hot cocoa I made in the haze a a chocolate craving this afternoon was disappointing.

It’s a miracle I didn’t insist on chocolate cake for supper!

Pitted dates, unsweetened shredded coconut, and coconut oil

Pitted dates, unsweetened shredded coconut, and coconut oil for Chocolate – Coconut Truffles!

Eating one Spring Roll, and sharing the other with Roxie, might have been a good compromise.  Regardless, I don’t have to dwell on one bad decision.  Especially since I was motivated enough to pick up what I needed to make something decadent tomorrow!

The moral of the story…  If at first you order something stupid, enjoy it!  And make a better choice tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

