Make Good Choices

Standard

Last week was incredibly busy.  And I made a lot of bad decisions.  I was pretty disappointed when I stopped to take stock of the week.  We ate out almost every day.  I wasn’t very careful about what kind of sugar I used.  I only ran once.  I didn’t even drink half of the water I was supposed to, and I drank alcohol almost every day.  Oh, and I didn’t do planks, not even once.

We took a Fall color drive last Saturday.  I wished I'd worn better shoes for walking.

We took a Fall color drive last Saturday. I wished I’d worn better shoes for walking.

But then I started thinking about what I’ve done in the past, and how wrong this week could have gone.  Even though I let things slide, the week wasn’t a total loss.  I made really good decisions when we did eat out, choosing healthier options or smaller portions, and still managed to eat a lot of fresh fruit and veggies.  Although I wasn’t able to completely stay away from refined sugars, I ate drastically less sugar than normally would have found it’s way to my plate.  I was more sedentary, and missed running, but I was a lot more active at home than normal, and I walked… A lot, even hung-over (Thanks, Molly!).  I absolutely felt the lack of water, but still drank more than I would have before, and I only had a few sips of Naren’s soda on Saturday.

I think the lesson to remember is the 80/20 rule.  If you’re making good decisions 80% of the time, you’re going to have positive results in the long run.  I made some bad decisions, but the week wasn’t a total loss.  I adjusted my behavior based on how my body felt.  One less successful week isn’t the end of the world.

It's hard to be sedentary with such an energetic dog!

It’s hard to be sedentary with such an energetic dog!

Here’s how I’m salvaging the rest of the month:

  • Worry less about getting 120 ounces of water.  Start the day with two big glasses of water before anything else.  And drink a glass of water before snacking or drinking alcohol.
  • Limit coffee to two cups, and alcohol to one glass.
  • Run.  Make a plan for the week, and stick to it.  If I schedule it in, I will do it.  And buy new running shoes.
  • Continue to limit sugar, not just refined sugar, but fruit sugars and honey, too.
  • Add a salad every day.
  • Since I’m discouraged by all the planks, but they’re definitely working, focus on 5 good planks, but add in 10 each squats, lunges, wall sits, push ups, and leg raises.
  • Sit less.  Especially when the TV is on.
Pere Marquette State Park

Pere Marquette State Park

Success isn’t the absence of failure, but how we recover when we do fail.  So I’ll get up, dust myself off, and adjust my plan.

Leave a Reply

